His Only Wife by Peace Adzo Medie, Soneela Nankani, et al.

 100.00

In stock

Compare
SKU: BKS00036 Categories: , ,

Afi Tekple is a young seamstress whose life is narrowing rapidly. She lives in a small town in Ghana with her widowed mother, spending much of her time in her uncle Pious’ house with his many wives and children. Then one day she is offered a life-changing opportunity – a proposal of marriage from the wealthy family of Elikem Ganyo, a man she doesn’t truly know. She acquiesces but soon realizes that Elikem is not quite the catch he seemed.

He sends a stand-in to his own wedding, and only weeks after Afi is married and installed in a plush apartment in the capital city of Accra does she meet her new husband. It turns out that he is in love with another woman, whom his family disapproves of; Afi is supposed to win him back on their behalf. But it is Accra that eventually wins Afi’s heart and gives her a life of independence that she never could have imagined for herself.

A brilliant scholar and a fierce advocate for women’s rights, author Peace Adzo Medie infuses her debut novel with intelligence and humor. For fans of Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie and Candice Carty-Williams, His Only Wife is the story of an indomitable and relatable heroine that illuminates what it means to be a woman in a rapidly changing world.

See It Styled On Instagram

    No access token
X

Main Menu